Round the world help for newb

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Miles/Points' started by jviska89, Mar 12, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. jviska89

jviska89 Active Member

Status Points:
    Hi All,

I am new to the travel hacking/mile collecting venture but have big plans. I want to start by saying I have searched this site and others but still feel a bit lost. I will lay out my current plans and miles for you and hopefully you can help me formulate a game plan. Here are the goals for my girlfriend and I. We want to travel to Germany in September this year to visit my brother.
    The other goal is more ambitious. In July of 2014 we plan to move to Australia for a year to take advantage of the holiday working visa. Our itinerary is not only Australia though. On the way we plan to visit Hawaii to see family and then Tianjin China to visit a friend prior to Australia. After Australia continue to Bali, India, maybe sub-Sahara Africa, Europe (a few stops) and Iceland before back to Chicago.

Current stats:
    Credit score: 755

Current cards and points:

British Airways Visa: 53,298 (opened 1/2013)
    Citi Thank you Primere Vida :4,530 (used the sign up bonus already) (opened 10/2012)
    USAA Platnium Mastercard: No points card (first card open for credit history)
    Preferred amount to put on all cards monthly to make sure I pay them off: $1,200
    Our goal is to travel with as many close to free flights as possible while doing the round the world. If possible we are trying to get better class tickets for the long haul flights (6 hours plus).

Questions:
    1) I have seen conflicting posts about whether to cancel cards or not. Is it a bad idea to close some to avoid annual fees?