Reserving Seats: To Pay Or Not To Pay...

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by Whatwasthat..., Apr 4, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. Whatwasthat...
    Original Member

Whatwasthat... Silver Member

Status Points:
    Hi. I've been reading various Forums on Milepoint since the Beta Days and it's been (and continues to be) a terrific education! That said, this is my first time posting a question on a Site like this and I'm not very clear on policy & protocol - where to appropriately post, whether it's okay to post a somewhat-narrow question (as opposed to helpful information), and so on. So this is my up-front apology if I'm doing this terribly wrong (and my request for your guidance on how to do this better in the future).

So my question is about whether/when it makes sense to pay extra to reserve seats.

Most immediately, I and the Mrs. have booked flights in May on BA in Club World from LAX to FCO (via LHR), with returns from CDG (via LHR) to LAX - thanks to the BA Chase Card 2-4-1 Voucher. We're looking forward to this being our first time traveling Business Class to Europe on BA (did this on AA before and it was an interesting experience for a number of reasons). But we're wondering whether we should pay the extra fees to pre-reserve our seats now (and which seats would be best to reserve together), or just do it the day before our departure for free?

Any advice you'd be willing to share would be very much appreciated, thanks!

misman, Mikel, East_Yorker and 4 others like this.
  2. MSPeconomist
    Original Member

MSPeconomist Gold Member

Status Points:
    Welcome. You'll notice that you already received 5 points for being active on MP after your first month (actually 30 days) anniversary.