RDU - IST

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by sunspotzsz, Jun 24, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. sunspotzsz
    Original Member

sunspotzsz Silver Member

Status Points:
    Hi there,

I am new to collecting miles and even newer to redeeming the miles.

My wife is flying from RDU to IST for a trip from Sep 2 to Sep 12. I would like to use miles for that.
    We have 250k AA miles, 100k CO miles and 150k BA miles, maybe 80k delta miles as well.

I tried AA and it says I need to call. For, delta, it needs a lot of miles.

I am wondering if I just need to call AA, and what are the things I should do to prepare?

thanks!

2. viguera
    Original Member

viguera Gold Member

Status Points:
    As we mentioned to the other member that was doing RDU to China, your best bet might be a positioning flight elsewhere, where there might be more availability from AA or partner airlines.

I'm sure someone with significantly better ideas will show up soon and give you some really good options :)

3. misman
    Original Member

misman Gold Member

Status Points:
    What is the flexibility on the dates? As has been said often, flexibility is the key to using rewards; 1-day may make the difference!

4. gleff
    Original Member

gleff Co-founder

Status Points:
    For American you need to call because American's website does not show availability on its partners, and American itself doesn't serve Istanbul.

Don't worry about starting from another city yet. Just start with the award you're looking for. Give American a call and see what they say, since they are going to be able to see availability on their partners which isn't something that is possible on their website.

Similarly, the Delta website's functionality is very limited. It doesn't include all of their partners, and it also makes 'mistakes' in pricing awards quite frequently. So give them a call as well, don't assume that the best you can do is what you see on their site.