Questions from a newbie.

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by TNTraveler, Aug 13, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. TNTraveler

TNTraveler Member

Status Points:
    I hope it's ok to ask these questions in this forum.

I have been traveling domestically pretty often for the past several years, driving to each destination (7,000 miles last year on the rental car on a trip to Arizona) and I have been looking into traveling internationally. Which is a whole new ballpark to me. I'm unsure of the best places internationally to visit as a newbie to international travel and how do I know I am getting the best airline rate?

I've been looking into different airline tips and tricks to get the lowest fare possible.

Here is an example of what I have been able to find.

I looked into flying from Atlanta to Dublin which was around $800 rt a person give or take a few $.
    Flight stopped over in Newark with an 8 hour layover.
    Checked from Newark to Dublin and found the tickets $510 rt per person.
    Renting a car and driving to Newark would be cheaper then the tickets to fly from Atlanta to Newark.

Am I on the right track or are there better ways for me to find the best airfare?

Thanks for reading!

2. ChrisUNC

ChrisUNC Silver Member

Status Points:
    Do you really want to spend 12-13 hours in a car, then get on a plane for another 7 hours. The last thing you want to do is miss you flight, so you'll need to add extra buffer in case of traffic, etc. Lots of things can happen on a drive that long, so you'll want to plan ahead. That means driving up the day before your flight - which means extra $$ for a hotel room. And don't forget the cost of gas and tolls, which could easily run you $70 - $100 each way (assuming your rental car gets 30mpg and gas is $3.39/gal) - plus at least another $60 bucks for the rental r/t (assuming you find one heck of deal). So any money you save on airfare will mostly be spent elsewhere, and it doesn't even factor in what your time is worth.