questions for oneworld experts??

Discussion in 'oneworld' started by jonspencer, Nov 7, 2015.  |  Print Topic

1. jonspencer

jonspencer Silver Member

Status Points:
    I have been flying Qatar recently because Emirates pricing for flights out of Dubai is nothing less than extortion :eek:

Qatar has a Globetrotter promotion where you get 100,000 points but you also get an one-tier upgrade, that is the real deal. So my understanding is when I go from Gold to Platinum, I am also Emerald on oneworld :D

?? - so as an example I just booked a flight on Cathay to Manila in early 2016, once I am Emerald can I try to upgrade with AA or Qatar points?

future flights will mostly be on QR, I am interested in any tips on how to get the most out of oneworld, I have zero experience with airline alliances as I have flown Emirates almost exclusively for 10 years

thank you in advance for any tips

2. Wandering Aramean
    Original Member

Wandering Aramean Gold Member

Status Points:
    Generally speaking upgrades only happen using the points of the airline on which you are flying. So if flying on Cathay then you'd need Cathay points to upgrade. There are a few exceptions (AA/BA/IB) but they are very much the exception, not the norm.

jonspencer likes this.
  3. kevyeow

kevyeow Active Member

Status Points:
    Hi...actually you can use your QR points to upgrade for your Cathay Pacific flights, as it's part of One World Alliance, as I just use my MH points last week to upgrade to Business Class from Hong Kong to Taipei. You can call QR for your upgrade. Thank you!

jonspencer likes this.
  4. Wandering Aramean
    Original Member

Status Points: