Question on Layovers (British Airways/LHR)

Discussion in 'British Airways | Executive Club' started by Distilledhighlife, Feb 28, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. Distilledhighlife

Distilledhighlife New Member

Status Points:
    Hi,
    Im new to milepoint and have a newbie question regarding layovers at LHR (flying BA, DXB => LHR => BOS)
    Im planning flying back from Dubai on BA 0106 leaving at 01:55am arriving at 06:20am. Now I have would like to fly out on BA0239 leaving at 7:30 pm and use the time to visit my folks who live near heathrow. Is it possible to have my bag ticketed through to BOS but leave the terminal and come back in time for 7:30 flight or should I take the BA0213 leaving at 11:20am?
    Thanks for the help!

2. rwoman
    Original Member

rwoman Gold Member

Status Points:
    I've had family members stay overnight and have their bags checked through with no problem. :) Just ensure it's tagged all the way through at DXB.

3. Globaliser
    Original Member

Globaliser Silver Member

Status Points:
    Welcome to MilePoint, Distilledhighlife!
    This should be no problem, not even if it's on two separate tickets.

4. Menashe

Menashe Silver Member

Status Points:
    I've done that several times in London. At least once I arrived into Heathrow in the morning and left late in the day out of Gatwick, and was able to check my bags through.

5. Globaliser
    Original Member

Globaliser Silver Member

Status Points:
    It doesn't affect the OP, but for anyone else who's reading this, this is no longer possible: inter-airport checked baggage transfers haven't been done by BA since about 2001.

EZEIZA likes this.
  6. techguru
    Original Member

techguru Silver Member

Status Points:
    Yes you can ticket straight through no issue at all.

7. Menashe

Menashe Silver Member

Status Points:
    Thanks - I hadn't realized.

8. EZEIZA
    Original Member

EZEIZA Silver Member

Status Points: