Question about spending

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by dannytata, Apr 17, 2014.  |  Print Topic

1. dannytata

dannytata Member

Status Points:
    Hi everyone,

My name is Danny, and I am new to the whole credit card game. I had a question regarding spending every month. I am still a student in college, have no debt, excellent credit, and have a few credit cards already. I can't seem to find information about, or know where to look for, how everyone breaks up their spending for their CCs. I don't have too many bills at the moment, so it's not like I can rack up that many points on my current expenses. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!

gconnery likes this.
  2. Pizzaman
    Original Member

Pizzaman Co-founder

Status Points:
    Welcome, dannytata! Credit card spending is a fluid game. Vanilla Reload cards at CVS and office supply stores used to be a great way to generate spending.

You can still do so with certain cards at Walmart and gift cards from some malls and other places. How much spending are you looking to generate?

gconnery likes this.
  3. dannytata

dannytata Member

Status Points:
    Thanks for the reply, Pizzaman! I was interested in the whole Vanilla Reload cards, but I heard that it's starting to fade out. I was planning on doing a few runs of $5000 at time to get a feel for things. I'm not too informed in the other options out there.

My girlfriend works for a big consulting firm, and travels a lot for work. I am trying to take care of some of my monthly expenses through this hobby as well as accrue some travel points so that I may go with her from time to time. I currently have the Chase Sapphired Preferred and use that as my one and only for essentially all my purchases. It seems like I may need to diversify a bit more, but I wanted to start off slow.

gconnery likes this.
  4. satman40

satman40 Gold Member

Status Points:
    CC spending is something you need to be able to pay off when due.