Question about miles posting to Continental account

Discussion in 'United Airlines | MileagePlus' started by habsfan, Feb 1, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. habsfan

habsfan Active Member

Status Points:
    Hi all,

I'm new to the miles game, and had a question about how miles on Star Alliance partner airlines should post to a Continental One Pass account...

I recently flew several flights with Swiss International Airlines, and the miles for most have posted to my Continental account (one of them had to be submitted for credit). On my boarding pass, under class, each of the tickets says "Y." According to Continental's web site, "Y" class should count as 150% for elite qualification miles; however, for the flights that have already posted, they counted at 100%. Is there a mistake, or am I missing something/misunderstanding the way that miles post?

Thanks!

tondoleo likes this.
  2. genemk2

genemk2 Gold Member

Status Points:
    Welcome!

Typically what is printed on a boarding pass is not the fare class that you actually booked --- they use "Y" to signify all Economy fares, "F" for all First fares, etc.

You need to see your original reservation to see what fare class you were booked into, not the boarding pass.

NYCUA1K likes this.
  3. NYCUA1K

NYCUA1K Gold Member

Status Points:
    There are a couple of things here. First the applicable *A rules:
    So, because the flight was operated by SWISS, you should check to see what "Y" would earn you according SWISS booking class and not according to CO's. According to http://www.united.com/page/article/0,6722,51397,00.html "Y" earns 100% flight miles on SWISS.
    Second, and this is what genemk2 stated above, the booking class on the ticket may not correspond to the booking class used to determine the flight miles earned, which the operating airline (SWISS) determines. According to SWISS, Y earns 100% flight miles.

Both rules say that you earn 100% and not 150% miles on this flight..

Welcome to MP!

4. habsfan