Question about airline credit cards

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Miles/Points' started by tbemille3, Mar 20, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. tbemille3

tbemille3 Active Member

Status Points:
    I everyone, I'm new to this miles/points world and I have a question about airline credit cards. Am I able to combine miles earned on airline credit cards from two accounts? For example, if my wife and I both sign up for the United Explorer Card and get the sign up bonus, can I then transfer both bonuses into my United FF account in order to book award travel? Or would she have to get a United FF account in order to book award travel also? I would like to be able to get the miles into one account so that I can book flights for us together rather than have to book flights individually.

Thanks for your help!

tondoleo and miles and smiles like this.
  2. miles and smiles
    Original Member

miles and smiles Gold Member

Status Points:
    Welcome to Milepoint!
    Most airlines do not allow you to combine accounts. United does not. However, you can book a ticket for another person using miles in your account.

tondoleo likes this.
  3. MDDCFlyer

MDDCFlyer Silver Member

Status Points:
    For airline specific credit cards - the answer is no. The name on the card and the name on the FF account needs to match.

For "general" credit card that allows transfer to an airline (Amex, Chase Sapphire, etc) - the answer is yes. You can transfer the miles/points pretty much to whom ever you want. I'm sure there are some card specific restriction on that, but it is much easier than the airline specific cards.

tondoleo likes this.
  4. tondoleo
    Original Member

tondoleo Gold Member

Status Points:
    Welcome TBmille3.