Q: Best Career for miles?

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by alohastephen, Jan 15, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. alohastephen

alohastephen Gold Member

Status Points:
    So now that I am completely hooked on miles/points, can someone tell me the best career for earning miles?

I am a teacher with more vacation time than the average career person for leisure travel.

Just wondering what all the milepoint members do when they aren't viewing this site?

2. Randy Petersen
    Original Member

Randy Petersen Founder

Status Points:
    Historically there is just one — as a courier. Many years ago Continental thought of honoring their top mileage frequent flyers with a small party/gathering, etc. Turns out when they identified them, 7 of the top 10 mileage earners were couriers so they decided to not host the party since couriers by classification aren't loyalists as much as they are merely vehicles for moving specific types of communication and correspondence.

Keep in mind there are several types of couriers, professionals who move correspondence and all their expenses are paid for and then public couriers who are really a way to save a few dollars when traveling by giving up your luggage and carryon for others packages, etc. And a fair warning, if i recall many "courier" companies are fairly flighty so you really need to check them out before getting involved. However i do know some professional couriers in the Foreign Services branch of government who seem to do quite well with miles and building a stupendous retirement package all by just flying.

And of course there is one that i do not know enough about but have wondered ... being an air marshall?

alohastephen and sobore like this.
  3. doc
    Original Member

doc Silver Member

Status Points:
    IDK, Randy..
    "being an air marshall?"
    Do they really collect FF miles?

alohastephen likes this.
  4. Randy Petersen
    Original Member

Randy Petersen Founder

Status Points: