Resolved Problem: Image Attached is Missing

Discussion in 'Feedback/Support/Suggestions' started by JALPak, Feb 25, 2011.  |  Print Topic

  1. JALPak
    Original Member

    JALPak Gold Member

    Messages:
    152,236
    Likes Received:
    53,266
    Status Points:
    20,020
    http://milepoint.com/forums/threads/intermittent-display-problem-of-chat-message.4167/

    I have attached some screen captures for this chat problem and it was there when I first posted the message. But the image is now gone for some reasons. And when I did a right click view image, I got an error.

    Config: Safari 5.0.3 (6333.19.4) on Mac OS X 10.6.6. Tried using firefox and images aren't displayed either.

    Screen shot 2011-02-25 at 6.25.44 PM.png

    Error Message when viewing image at: http://milepoint.com/forums/attachments/screen-shot-2011-02-25-at-5-23-09-pm-png.2896/?embedded=1

    Screen shot 2011-02-25 at 6.25.59 PM.png
     
    Gargoyle likes this.
  2. Gargoyle
    Original Member

    Gargoyle Milepoint Guide

    Messages:
    22,014
    Likes Received:
    96,541
    Status Points:
    20,020
    odd, I still see it in both FF and IE. Your safari is seriously messed up.
     
    kaka likes this.
  3. JALPak
    Original Member

    JALPak Gold Member

    Messages:
    152,236
    Likes Received:
    53,266
    Status Points:
    20,020
    In firefox 3.6.13 on Mac OS X 10.6.6, the image is replaced by the image name "Screen shot 2011-02-25 at 5:23:09 PM.png". As you can tell, I have edited the message using the editor, but it was still there after I edited the page. And disappeared when I visited the page again in ~1 hour later


    Screen shot 2011-02-25 at 6.36.15 PM.png
     
  4. tomh009
    Original Member

    tomh009 Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,258
    Likes Received:
    1,819
    Status Points:
    1,220
    Actually, I am seeing this, too, in Firefox 4 -- embedded images are intermittently not displayed. Happens at random to either one of JALPak's images he refers to above, and I also saw it happen to the seahorse photo in another thread.

    Can this be a server-side problem? Tonight is the first time I've seen this behaviour.

    And, yes, it's happening to the two images JALPak posted in this thread, too. Sometimes both display, sometimes only one.
     
    Travelman, Gargoyle and JALPak like this.
  5. JALPak
    Original Member

    JALPak Gold Member

    Messages:
    152,236
    Likes Received:
    53,266
    Status Points:
    20,020
    I tried with my iphone 4 on iOS 4.0.2 and images displayed fine :eek: weird
     
    Travelman and Gargoyle like this.
  6. JALPak
    Original Member

    JALPak Gold Member

    Messages:
    152,236
    Likes Received:
    53,266
    Status Points:
    20,020
    I can see all three images in this thread just fine. This is really weird and I have no idea how to reproduce it. I quit safari, logout and log back in, problem still persists in the other thread.
     
    Gargoyle likes this.
  7. tomh009
    Original Member

    tomh009 Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,258
    Likes Received:
    1,819
    Status Points:
    1,220
    Keep refreshing and see what happens. Here's the sequence I got when I loaded this thread this time, and refreshed four times:
    1. Saw both images
    2. Saw neither
    3. Saw neither
    4. Saw both
    5. Saw error message only
    It's not Safari or Firefox ... something funky is going on, either with the servers or with a recent XenForo JavaScript update.
     
    Gargoyle and JALPak like this.
  8. Gargoyle
    Original Member

    Gargoyle Milepoint Guide

    Messages:
    22,014
    Likes Received:
    96,541
    Status Points:
    20,020
    I had a lot of problems earlier tonight with FF 4- I'd upload an image, the post composition first displayed just the image number and the close image tag, and the little image load link below had the image file name instead of the thumbnail in the thumbnail window.
    I'd submit the post, and it would display the image name, not the image.

    I thought it was because I'd installed a plug-in and hadn't rebooted FF yet; I shut down and restarted FF and that fixed the problem, so I've been assuming it was on my end.
     
  9. JALPak
    Original Member

    JALPak Gold Member

    Messages:
    152,236
    Likes Received:
    53,266
    Status Points:
    20,020
    I tried refreshing before. Didn't work on my browsers (Safari and FF). I even logged out and log back in, quits both browsers, still doesn't work
     
  10. JALPak
    Original Member

    JALPak Gold Member

    Messages:
    152,236
    Likes Received:
    53,266
    Status Points:
    20,020
    Exactly the same I saw with FF. I have a screen capture in post #3. Only image name is displayed
     
  11. Gargoyle
    Original Member

    Gargoyle Milepoint Guide

    Messages:
    22,014
    Likes Received:
    96,541
    Status Points:
    20,020
    OK, so it wasn't me- that's exactly what I was getting, but with a jpg instead of a png.

    The image is uploading fine at the moment:

    England-Bolton-Abbey-Cram.jpg
     
  12. JALPak
    Original Member

    JALPak Gold Member

    Messages:
    152,236
    Likes Received:
    53,266
    Status Points:
    20,020
    Can't view that either. I got the same error message I posted in OP.
     
    Gargoyle likes this.
  13. Gargoyle
    Original Member

    Gargoyle Milepoint Guide

    Messages:
    22,014
    Likes Received:
    96,541
    Status Points:
    20,020
    I screwed it up for a moment, by deleting the thumbnail below the post in the edit window; I uploaded it again. Do you see it now?

    Oh, and when I click the link in your quote the image does display in a new tab.
     
  14. JALPak
    Original Member

    JALPak Gold Member

    Messages:
    152,236
    Likes Received:
    53,266
    Status Points:
    20,020
    Now your post looks like this.

    Screen shot 2011-02-25 at 6.54.18 PM.png
     
    Gargoyle likes this.
  15. Gargoyle
    Original Member

    Gargoyle Milepoint Guide

    Messages:
    22,014
    Likes Received:
    96,541
    Status Points:
    20,020
    When I view your post it says "Screen shot 2011-02-25 at 6:54.18 PM.png" but when I quote you, the edit window shows:
    Code:
    [quote="JALPak, post: 147299"]Now your post looks like this.
    
    [ATTACH=full]2926[/ATTACH][/quote]
    this is getting stranger and stranger
     
  16. tomh009
    Original Member

    tomh009 Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,258
    Likes Received:
    1,819
    Status Points:
    1,220
    Inconsistent. Showed first 3-4 times, then the next refresh didn't work.

    The functioning one:
    Capture.PNG Capture2.PNG
    Not so much here:
    Capture2.PNG
    :(
     
    JALPak likes this.
  17. tomh009
    Original Member

    tomh009 Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,258
    Likes Received:
    1,819
    Status Points:
    1,220
    [/CODE][/quote]
    I think that's intentional -- the MilePoint team must have changed a setting a few days ago, and now quotes no longer include the entire image, just a link to it.[/CODE][/quote]
     
    JALPak likes this.
  18. Gargoyle
    Original Member

    Gargoyle Milepoint Guide

    Messages:
    22,014
    Likes Received:
    96,541
    Status Points:
    20,020
    I see this when I look at your post:
    Code:
    The functioning one:
      	 	[IMG]http://milepoint.com/forums/attachments/capture-png.2931/?embedded=1[/IMG] 		  	 	[IMG]http://milepoint.com/forums/attachments/capture2-png.2930/?embedded=1[/IMG] 		 
     Not so much here:
       	 	[IMG]http://milepoint.com/forums/attachments/capture2-png.2930/?embedded=1[/IMG]
    I see this in the rich text edit window:
    Code:
    The functioning one:
    [ATTACH=full]2931[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]2930[/ATTACH]
    Not so much here:
    [ATTACH=full]2930[/ATTACH]
    so the two don't agree, and I don't see the image.
     
  19. Gargoyle
    Original Member

    Gargoyle Milepoint Guide

    Messages:
    22,014
    Likes Received:
    96,541
    Status Points:
    20,020
    OK, so it's repeatable, you and I both have FF 4, I'm on WinXP, JALPak has safari and FF on a mac...
     
  20. JALPak
    Original Member

    JALPak Gold Member

    Messages:
    152,236
    Likes Received:
    53,266
    Status Points:
    20,020
    This is how your post (#11) looks like when I quote it

    Code:
    [quote="Gargoyle, post: 147254"]OK, so it wasn't me- that's exactly what I was getting, but with a jpg instead of a png.
    
    The image is uploading fine at the moment:
    
    [ATTACH=full]2924[/ATTACH][/quote]
     
    Gargoyle likes this.
  21. Gargoyle
    Original Member

    Gargoyle Milepoint Guide

    Messages:
    22,014
    Likes Received:
    96,541
    Status Points:
    20,020
    I just uploaded a couple pix in the Ruined Abbeys thread. That's where I had trouble earlier tonight. These seem to have gone up fine, everything seems normal.
     
  22. tomh009
    Original Member

    tomh009 Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,258
    Likes Received:
    1,819
    Status Points:
    1,220
    I think I attached one of them twice -- because it didn't show! -- that would explain the difference.

    Firefox 4 on Windows 7. And IE8 shows the same problem.

    Based on the symptoms, I think the browser tries to load the image but for some reason the server returns an error on that request.
     
    Gargoyle likes this.
  23. tomh009
    Original Member

    tomh009 Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,258
    Likes Received:
    1,819
    Status Points:
    1,220
    I see intermittent problems on that thread, too.

    It's systemic ... have reported to the admin team now.
     
    Gargoyle likes this.
  24. Gargoyle
    Original Member

    Gargoyle Milepoint Guide

    Messages:
    22,014
    Likes Received:
    96,541
    Status Points:
    20,020
    ok, and I just saw all the pix a minute ago.
    Definitely a server image load problem. But how come we're not seeing anyone else come in here reporting it?
    (I guess they're too busy liking us)
     
    tomh009 likes this.
  25. tomh009
    Original Member

    tomh009 Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,258
    Likes Received:
    1,819
    Status Points:
    1,220
    Most of the traffic at the moment appears to be in the "I want to be liked" thread which doesn't have many images ... [​IMG]
     
    Travelman and JALPak like this.

Share This Page