Problem Booking International Flights on AA.com

Discussion in 'American Airlines | AAdvantage' started by jwc3, Nov 12, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. jwc3

jwc3 Member

Status Points:
    Hello, MilePointers. This is my first time posting. I am a professional travel photographer, so I travel a fair amount. I am Gold status on AA and about half way to my Million Miler status.

Anyway, I am having some trouble booking flights on AA.com. I'm traveling from RDU to BKK in January. Every time I search for flights some pretty competitive fares come up, but when I click on them they all instantly become unavailable, as if someone else just bought the last ticket at that fare. But then when I do the same search again the same low fare appears again, and once again it's not available when I select it. This seems to be a deceptive trade practice -- showing low rates and then not allowing me to book. It seems this happens any time one of the segments of the trip is on a partner airline (JAL, CX, etc.) When I scroll down to the same flights with an AA flight number, the price goes up $500-600. Sometimes even more.

Is it not possible to use AA.com to book flights that use partner airlines for some of the segments? Am I doing something wrong? I'd like to fly AA and continue my status, but they are making it so difficult...

Thanks for any insight you might have.

zpaul likes this.
  2. flyforawg

flyforawg Silver Member

Status Points:
    I just looked for you on the AA web site and I'm not seeing any attractive fares purchasing from AA. What dates were you using?

Just checked through CX site and it's much cheaper. If you want AA credit, just use your AA frequent flyer number. Most of the flying is done on partner airlines anyway.

zpaul and MX like this.
  3. jwc3

jwc3 Member

Status Points:
    Jan 9 to Feb 5, 2014. I found $1744 rt, but can't book it.

zpaul likes this.
  4. iolaire
    Original Member

iolaire Gold Member

Status Points: