Priority Club Value Naïveté

Discussion in 'IHG | Rewards Club/Ambassador' started by Ed Chandler, Jan 6, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. Ed Chandler
    Original Member

Ed Chandler Silver Member

Status Points:
    Hi, all,

I'm sure I'm missing something. Help me out, please. IHG isn't my usual brand, so I'm new to Priority Club and I don't "get it" on two fronts:
    1. I keep reading that Cash + Points is the way to go, but there's no significant difference in the per-point value when I do the math on that, and
    2. The per-point value isn't that great anyway.
    Example: Property costs $163.25. Options are:
    • 30k points (Value = $.0054 per point)
    • 25k points + $40 (Value = $.0049 per point)
    • 20k points + $70 (Value = $.0047 per point)
    So, ... whoop-de-frickin'-doo ... there's no real difference and all of them are getting values of about half-a-cent per point, right? Is it only at the "aspirational" properties that you start to see better value per point?
    Thanks up front.

Kalboz, William JLP and MX like this.
  2. LAM

LAM Silver Member

Status Points:
    I think for me it is the fact that most of the time I am looking at what I can afford and not what value I am getting out of the points. For a weekend away say I only have 55000 points, the cash difference may make or break whether I can go for the weekend. I probably can afford $80 but $140 for two nights might be out of my budget. I like having the the two cash and points options. Different strokes for different folks.

Kalboz and William JLP like this.
  3. icurhere2
    Original Member

icurhere2 Gold Member

Status Points:
    There are exceptions to every mantra but an example would have been my hotel from last Sunday night - default rate was $179, AAA rate was $162, award night was 10,000 or points+cash of 5,000+$40. An obvious scenario where paying either revenue rate out-of-pocket would be imprudent.

Kalboz, William JLP and LauraPDX like this.
  4. Rosalia

Rosalia Silver Member