Pre-Reserving Seats In Club World...

Discussion in 'British Airways | Executive Club' started by Whatwasthat..., Apr 4, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. Whatwasthat...
    Original Member

Whatwasthat... Silver Member

Status Points:
    Being a newbie, I posed my initial query about whether/when it makes sense to pay extra to pre-reserve seats on the Newbies Forum, and I received some wonderful advice - including a suggestion that I bring part of my question to this Forum. So here goes.

I and the Mrs. have booked flights in May on BA in Club World from LAX to FCO (via LHR), with returns from CDG (via LHR) to LAX - thanks to the BA Chase Card 2-4-1 Voucher. We're looking forward to this being our first time traveling Business Class to Europe on BA (did this on AA before and it was an interesting experience for a number of reasons). But we've been wondering whether we should pay the extra fees to pre-reserve our seats now (and which seats would be best to reserve together).

Our transatlantic flights in both directions are scheduled to be on B747-400 (70 Next Generation). On our outbound flight, about half the seats have already been pre-reserved (including all of the Upper Deck). There appears to be a bit more availability for our return trip, including a few seats on the Upper Deck in rows 63 & 64. In any event, I'm getting the strong feeling I better go ahead and pre-reserve seats now.

I've checked SeatGuru and SeatExpert for their preferences, which were somewhat puzzling (they seem to like seats facing the rear of the plane in the middle of a row of four, something about "extra privacy"). Now I'm wondering if any of you would be willing to share your recommendations based on your experiences?

Any advice would be very much appreciated indeed, thanks!

2. ben senise
    Original Member

ben senise Silver Member

Status Points: