Points for ultra-low spenders?

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by Jessi111, Jan 9, 2014.  |  Print Topic

1. Jessi111

Jessi111 New Member

Status Points:
    I am new to frequent flyer miles, and am trying to accrue enough points/miles to go to Europe (Vienna, Prague, Budapest) for a summer 2015 honeymoon. We are both in grad school and only do not spend very much on a monthly basis. I was looking into credit card sign-on bonuses, but I just do not spend $3000 in a three month period.

I have excellent credit, but my fiance does not.

Any suggestions would be fantastic!

MSYgirl likes this.
  2. Wandering Aramean
    Original Member

Wandering Aramean Gold Member

Status Points:
    Congrats on the upcoming wedding (and welcome to MilePoint)!

Do some reading on manufactured spending. The gist of it is that you buy things like pre-paid cards and then cash them out at or very near to par value. A $500 card might cost you only $3.95 in fees. Do that a few times and you've got your $3000 in spend (and the bonus points) for <$50 plus a bit of your time.

Some key things to look in to include Vanilla Reloads/Bluebird (alluded to above), Amazon Payments (be careful with this as the T&Cs and how people use it for manufactured spending probably aren't quite aligned), Venmo and more.

ffitalia, viguera and MSYgirl like this.
  3. MSYgirl

MSYgirl Gold Member

Status Points:
    Congratulations on your upcoming nuptials, and welcome to MP. :)

4. Free2travel

Free2travel Silver Member

Status Points:
    I'm new also but how about looking for cards with lower spends? I think it's the Barclay's World Mastercard that gives $400 in points for a $1000 spend.

5. iolaire
    Original Member

iolaire Gold Member

Status Points:
    Is your low spending due to low access to funds, or do you have the capabilities to spend more than you do?