Points-earning strategy for trip to Sweden

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by elsewyse, Jan 17, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. elsewyse

elsewyse Active Member

Status Points:
    I'm planning a trip to Sweden for my mom & I sometime within the next few years, and for obvious reasons, I'd like to pay for it using points as much as possible. I'm new to the game and could really use some advice about where to concentrate my credit card apps/etc in order to be as efficient as I can. There's no set date for the trip yet, but I probably have a year, maybe more to work in. The trip would probably be a week to two weeks long.

Current holdings:
    Sapphire UR points: 66k
    United: 73k
    AA: 22k
    Priority Club: 21k
    Marriot: 20k

If I can get enough points to get us both over there in business class that would be great, but I'll take coach if we have to. Credit's in the mid-700s. I can't do more than ~$2000 in monthly spending. I don't have anything resembling a business, so I can't apply for business cards. I've got three Chase cards right now (Sapphire Preferred, United, Amtrak), two of which were applied for within the last three months, so I'd prefer to concentrate on other banks right now if possible.

That said, can anyone suggest where I should go from here? Ways to get more United miles? What hotel chain to focus on? Right now I'm looking at the new Club Carlson card, since they seem to have a number of hotels in Sweden. Are there any other hotel cards that would be better? Is there anything else I'm not thinking about that would be smart to do?

TIA for any help!

2. particlemn

particlemn Silver Member

Status Points: