Points.com = My Worst Newbie FF decision

Discussion in 'Points.com' started by Derek, Apr 13, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. Derek
    Original Member

Derek Silver Member

Status Points:
    I'm fairly new to the miles/points game, and traded around 17k US Air miles for 3k on VX. Beginner's mistake. I am still bitter about this exchange. Avoid points.com like the plague. Their exchange ratios are a travesty. On a happier note, this is the only points transaction I regret. Thanks to the knowledge available here and on FT, I've learned quickly and have not repeated such poor decisions. In fact, so far as I can tell, since then, I've made nothing but good (great?:)) decisions re: earning miles! And I have no one but the knowledgeable posters here, and on FT, to thank for helping me learn quickly.

Thank You!

2. Points.com

Points.com Z Representative

Status Points:
    Hi Derek,

I'm sorry about your experience with Points.com, especially when you were a newbie frequent flyer. Although I can't change your experience, I can give a bit of an explanation about our products that may help in the future:

We offer two different services to enable people to move points and miles between their programs: Trade and Exchange. With Exchange, the rates between programs are set by our partners. For Trade, the rates are set by users (exclusive of the trading fees, which are set by partners). If you'd like to have more control over the rate of exchange you get when moving points and miles between programs, Trade is a great option.

Another good tip for using Points.com is to keep an eye out for bonus promotions. We have one that's ending today that allows you to get a 15% when you Trade or Exchange into Aeroplan. We always mention Points.com promotions on our site, our Twitter account (@PointsAdvisor) and our Facebook page.