Platinum to 1K offer

Discussion in 'United Airlines | MileagePlus' started by mlangbau, Jan 15, 2014.  |  Print Topic

1. mlangbau

mlangbau New Member

Status Points:
    I fell short of 1K for 2013 by 3600 miles.
    United has sent me an email with offer to purchase premier miles at a cost of approximately $1700/4000 miles.
    I travel internationally about 2-3 times per year (sometimes on partner airlines).

My questions are:

1. What are the advantages to upgrading besides the 6 global upgrades.
    2. How easy is it to use these upgrades....is there any reason that they could shut you out of using them?
    3. Can these upgrades be used if the lowest priced economy ticket is purchased?

Thanks so much for the help...I am still fairly new at this.

2. genemk2

genemk2 Gold Member

Status Points:
    1. You also get 2 more regional upgrades. And better complimentary upgrade priority on domestic flights. You also get a 25% bonus in redeemable miles over Platinum Members. The full list of differences are here: (http://www.united.com/web/en-US/content/mileageplus/premier/default.aspx)

2. Depends on the route, and when you buy. If you fly business-heavy routes (SFO-PEK springs to mind), the chances of an upgrade may be different than more leisure-friendly routes. If you buy a W-fare, you can always apply them, but no guarantee on whether they clear or not.

3. No, you need W-fare at a minimum. Some members buy even higher fare classes to increase the odds of clearing an upgrade since the priority order is based on (1) status (2) fare class and (3) time on waitlist (in that order).

3. legalalien
    Original Member

legalalien Gold Member

Status Points:
    FWIW, upgrades are not valid on partner airlines regardless of fare class. The only exception is Lufthansa, where upgrades can be used, but are subject to even more restrictions.

rggale and genemk2 like this.
  4. HaveMilesWillTravel
    Original Member

HaveMilesWillTravel Gold Member

Status Points: