Park Hyatt Istanbul Maçka Palas - Turkey - Review

Discussion in 'Hyatt | Gold Passport' started by Philipp, Mar 10, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. Hello,
    as promised here is my review on the Park Hyatt Istanbul Macka Palas (Palace).

The official website of the Park Hyatt Istanbul:
    http://istanbul.park.hyatt.com/hyatt/hotels/index.jsp

First I want to start with a brief introduction of my travel experiences so you can evaluate my impressions. I'm 25 years old, always liked travelling and have been very lucky that my parents tried to show me some spots in the world when I was a kid. We usually spent the nights in a vacation house or in a decent hotel like "Novotel" instead of a 5* luxury hotel. Since I'm still a student and there a plenty of spots I want to visit I often backpack, couchsurf and stay in hostels. Besides having people around (I'm really enjoying myself in hostels) I as well like to be very well treated and enjoy a great time in spas. I'm hunting miles and sales, like priceline and wrong prices and therefore I've stayed in other Hyatt hotels (Park Hyatt Hamburg (Germany), Park Hyatt Paris-Vendôme (Paris)), in Sofitels and spent nights in a Marriott as well.

Still the Park Hyatt Istanbul Macka Palas is the most overwhelming hotel I've stayed in so far.

The Location:
    The spot of the hotel is outstanding and in an aspiring quarter of Istanbul, Nisantasi. The hotel is in the middle of a shopping area with all luxury labels and nice restaurants around. The Istanbul Convention & Exhibition Center is closed and the places of interest (Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque) are easy to access as well. Either you'll take a 5 to 10 minute cap ride or a long but worthwile walk (around an hour). You'll have amazing views.