Opinion(s) Sought - Best Ways to Manage Cash/Accum Miles while overseas

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Miles/Points' started by TravelBearTX, Apr 20, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. TravelBearTX
    Original Member

TravelBearTX Silver Member

Status Points:
    I've done some reading about BankDirect, ING Direct, American Express Banking - and the benefits of having online savings accounts vs. the traditional brick & mortar (e.g. Bank of America).

While I'm quite savvy at accumulating miles & points(self taught, and many years of reading FT, TB and most recently MP) - I'm an old schooler when it comes to banking (and insurance). That is, I've been pretty loyal to one bank over the years, with just a savings account and checking account (to which my payroll is direct deposited). I believe I'm missing out on higher interest rates of the online savings accounts -- and - germain to MP ;-) - accumlating miles for AA.

So - the question. What would be the ideal set of accounts to establish - where one can have your money accumulating interest, earning miles, and when the monthly bills are due - allow you to make your payments automatically (I have most of my credit cards, utilities, mortgages etc set to direct debit from my BofA checking account).

To add a bit of complication - while the US is home (with my BofA accounts), we've been living/working in Australia for the past 3 years, and have just accepted another 2 year assignment for Perth. Thus, I also have OZ banking accounts with ANZ & NAB. (and credit cards, rent payments, utility payments etc to make in OZ).

I'm considering opening an ING Direct account (either in OZ or the US) - and have my OZ payroll direct deposited; and then, on a monthly basis - transfer money to my BofA account where most of our US Bills are paid, and transfer money to our ANZ account where most of our OZ bills are paid.