One World vs Star Alliance Award

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Miles/Points' started by PAinNY, Mar 11, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. PAinNY
    Original Member

PAinNY Silver Member

Status Points:
    Hi again,

I posted a previous thread about transferring AX points to programs. This is for friends who would like to probably go to Australia. I got some great advice and also see the advantage of the Air Canada transfer. Now, being a newbie I first want to thank everyone for their help and patience.
    Here's my 2nd part of the question. I saw that on One World they could book a ticket for 150,000 miles for a trip under 25,000 miles and I looked at this MIA-CDG (stopover) CDG-HKG (stopover) HKG-SYD (stopover) SYD-MEL (stopover) MEL-AKL (stopover) AKL-LAX-PBI ....it came to just over 25,000 miles but I could work on it.
    Here's the question - how many miles would this cost in Business using Star Alliance. I can't seem to find a chart including stopovers. If anyone could point me in the right direction it would be much appreciated. I did find the Star Alliance Route Planner but couldn't find how many miles the reward would cost.
    Thanks again
    Pat

Funtodoimpossible likes this.
  2. Funtodoimpossible
    Original Member

Funtodoimpossible Gold Member

Status Points:
    The number is miles needed is determined by the program, its routing rules, and how you end up booking everything.

You have five stopovers and an open jaw. To get five stop overs on a single ticket you would need to book a Round the World (RTW) ticket. (I'm not sure if you can do an open jaw on a RTW ticket)

AC does not publish the number of miles needed for a RTW ticket, at least I haven't been able to find it online, but presuming it is similar to UA, it would be 200K for Y, and 300K for C.