One way plane tickets still cause additional TSA screening?

Discussion in 'Travel Security' started by MSPeconomist, Dec 13, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. MSPeconomist
    Original Member

MSPeconomist Gold Member

Status Points:
    I am considering purchasing two one way tickets on different alliances for a simple domestic round trip. I am a VFF and HVC with one carrier and enrolled in their new trusted traveler program with GE. For the other, I would be flying without their status at any level but using low-level status from a foreign carrier. I am a USA citizen and resident. The tickets would be purchased with a credit card that I have had for a long time. I always use either my passport or GE card as airport ID when I travel.

Is this likely to get me a SSSS or other enhanced scrutiny? I remember a time when OW tickets were an automatic red flag but I have not heard anything about this in years. Is it still considered to be an issue?

marcwint55 and jbcarioca like this.
  2. HaveMilesWillTravel
    Original Member

HaveMilesWillTravel Gold Member

Status Points:
    I have done several one-way award tickets this year and never got special screening because of it.

3. viguera
    Original Member

viguera Gold Member

Status Points:
    Last two I did I got special treatment, but that was a couple of years ago.

jbcarioca likes this.
  4. NYBanker
    Original Member

NYBanker Gold Member

Status Points:
    MSPE, you'll be fine.

Speaking with several TSA agents, it seems pretty clear that the SSSS program has been reduced substantially (almost eliminated) over the past 2+ years. While buying one-ways used to be a near shoe-in for the Ss, the program is now limited at most airports to those that are perceived as extremely high risk, who typically get "handed off" through the screening process.