Off to D.C. then Across the Pond for some ducks...hopefully

Discussion in 'Trip Reports' started by frubio2012, Oct 31, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. frubio2012

frubio2012 Silver Member

Status Points:
    Little about me before you read on. I’m a Premier Executive on United based out of DFW. I graduated this past July with a Bachelor’s in Criminal Justice and Criminology. And, since then I’ve been applying all over the nation for a policing position. Which is how the following trip was created.

This Sunday, I will be heading to D.C. for my first actual visit for a written exam with Washington D.C. Metro Police. (Not counting my layovers in the past.) I will be flying DFW-DEN-DCA on United on Nov. 6 and staying at the “The Liaison Capitol Hill Hotel.” I’ll only be in D.C. for a night. My policing exam is on the 7th at 9 a.m. and after I complete the test, I hope to see a few sights. White House, Supreme Court, etc., you know, the usual suspects when visiting D.C. My flight back to DFW is DCA-DEN-DFW. I leave DC around 5:35 p.m. and get into DFW around 12:30 a.m. Well, my next trip is an award ticket that I booked a few weeks ago.

It consists of DFW-SFO-FRA-LHR-MUC-ORD-DFW all in F with LHR being my vacation. But, who says flying has to be annoying. I’ll be on United for the domestic portions and then LH for the international segments. My original plan was, DFW-FRA-LHR-MUC-ORD. But after reading so much about the new First Class on LH; I thought about trying to get on a plane that has the new first class. Well, I called UA to see if it was possible to switch my flights. Well, that in it of itself was an adventure. But, I’ll talk about that when I get to that portion of my flight. Stay tuned. [​IMG]

Flights: (Before any changes or delays...hopefully stays that way.)

11/6/11:
    • UA 0227 - DFW-DEN - First - Seat: 03B - Boeing 757-200