Noob couple using multiple cards?

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Credit Cards' started by SeanLJ, Sep 1, 2014.  |  Print Topic

1. SeanLJ

SeanLJ Member

Status Points:
    Hello, I'm new to travel hacking. I just met the minimum spend on a Chase Sapphire and a Chase Ink Bold plus to receive their sign-up bonus miles. My goal is to save $ on domestic travel visiting friends and family (I live near SFO airport, flying home to DTW is expensive). Also my girlfriend and I want to start traveling together to places like Scotland.
    1. When I redeem my miles, how does that work? Do I have to purchase tickets through Chase's travel services? Or do those miles get transferred to me in a voucher, or to the airline alliance of my choice, and I handle the rest on my own?
    2. Can miles from different cards be combined to purchase a single ticket? Or, do I need to earn enough miles on each, separate card, for each single flight?
    3. Following the same thoughts... since we plan to do most of our traveling together, I'm wondering if it's necessary for my girlfriend and I to get the same exact credit cards, and try to rack-up the same amount of miles?
    Any help is appreciated, and/or if you can direct me to other posts on MilePoint. I may call the credit card companies to ask them these questions, too, but I thought I'd get straighter answers from this community. Thank you!

PS: I may get one more card, thinking of the Barclay Arrival. Seems like a good compliment to the Sapphire and Ink Bold Plus. Thoughts? Starwood Preferred is highly recommended, but we don't stay in typical hotels too often.

2. satman40

satman40 Gold Member

Status Points:
    One thing about CC is do not spend more than you can pay back when due.

On thing about travel, the expense is not in flying,

Do the SFO /DFW and book the trip via the web site when you get the miles.