Newbie with limited resources

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by MaryDarling, Jul 12, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. MaryDarling

MaryDarling Silver Member

Status Points:
    I'm very glad to have found all of you! I am very new to this whole process, but am excited to learn all I can. I have a couple of questions, but let me provide some context:

My partner and I are trying to keep our household spend to about $3K a month (not including mortgage), or about $36K a year. We live near San Francisco, so this is not a lavish budget. This means we can likely reach a $30K spend threshold on one credit card, but it will mean not having much to put on any other credit cards.

In terms of travel, in the next 12 months my my work will require about 6 RT to the East Coast, at an average cost of $2K per trip. Otherwise our travel will be quite limited -- possibly one or two west coast trips (OAK-LAX or the like).

Our goal is to take a dream trip 18-24 months from now, possibly for as long as two months, since we can likely work remotely during that time. Destination is flexible, and partly depends on what we can afford. We're just hoping for a champagne trip on a cheap beer budget! I'm willing to do some mileage runs or cheap hotel stays, but don't have endless reserves for doing so.

Currently we have:
    300K BA miles (we both have the Visa card, and I cashed in my AMEX points for the 50% bonus)
    76K Alaska miles (my partner has the Visa, I do not)
    60K Marriott points
    43K Virgin America miles
    22K EVA miles
    13K UA miles
    10K Hilton points, plus Gold status

I also have a AMEX Premier Rewards Gold card, and a AMEX Gold OPEN card, with an invitation to take it Platinum.

Looking for advice or opinions on the following:
    1) Which credit card would be best to use for our household expenses? If we hit $30K in spend on BA we get a free companion ticket, but I'm wondering if we should apply for and use the Starwood Amex to build hotel points.