Newbie question: United Silver or *Gold via Aegean, which should it be?

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by jools1006, Aug 26, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. jools1006

jools1006 Silver Member

Status Points:
    Hello everyone!

Relative newbie here.

I don't have status (yet) but would like to start earning towards it. I've chosen United / Star Alliance since I fly out of SFO and they serve the routes I typically fly on, and I just got the Explorer Visa from Chase.

I don't fly domestically very much - mostly between SFO and LAS, LAX and occasionally SAN.
    I could possibly hit 25,000 miles for United Silver between this year and next year, but would it make more sense to credit to Aegean for *Gold?

I'm about to book three domestic segments on United and notice that there are V-UP fares for only a few dollars than economy. Do these definitely put you in First and do they definitely earn 150% of PQM?

Thanks in advance for any help, MP'ers! I've learned a lot from lurking/reading.

1. What is your origination city/airport? SFO
    2. Where do you tend to travel? LAS, LAX, SAN
    3. What is you goal for the frequent flyer program (status, upgrades, rewards, etc.?) Status, rewards, upgrades would be nice
    4. How much do you travel in an average year? Varies but between 5-15 shorthaul roundtrips
    5. Do you fly for business, pleasure, or a mix? Pleasure
    6. How much of your travel is paid by someone else? None
    7. How much control do you have of choosing flights, airlines, etc.? Total control
    8. What days of the week do you typically travel? Any
    9. Can you book flexible fares? Prefer not to, prefer the cheapest
    10. If you are likely to qualify for elite status will it be miles or segments? Miles, I think.
    11. Do you have a preference or imposed requirement of hotel/rental car/credit card partners? No preference, no imposed required. Currently have quite a few Chase cards.