Newbie Question...all points or points and cash??

Discussion in 'IHG | Rewards Club/Ambassador' started by sargenet, Apr 16, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. sargenet
    Original Member

sargenet Silver Member

Status Points:
    I am totally new to Priority Club and wanted some assistance in making some new bookings..

I decided to get the Chase Priority Club card with 80K sign up bonus and new status..

Now I am getting ready to make my first bookings and am a little confused at the options! I am more familiar with SPG and Hilton....

For example... I have already decided to use the points to stay in San Francisco at Fisherman's Wharf. But I have an option of the following:

25K....
    20K plus $40
    15K plus $60....
    Lowest room rate during that time is $270...

Do you guys normally use the full amount of points (25K) or is it better to stretch out the points? I guess the biggest issue is the 2 different cash options! I am not sure if I am "missing something" and one way is smarter to go than the other if I am planning to do cash and points... thanks for any feedback!!!

JohnDeere19 and KathInJax like this.
  2. JohnDeere19
    Original Member

JohnDeere19 Gold Member

Status Points:
    I tend to go with the cash + points option. $60 for 10k points is pretty good. Don't bother with the $40 + 20k.

PointsCashMiles and KathInJax like this.
  3. sobore
    Original Member

sobore Gold Member

Status Points:
    I tend to like the $60 + point options.
    In your case $60 and 15k points for a rate of $270 means your cash redemption value for the points is $210. I see this as very good value.

4. kellio
    Original Member

kellio Gold Member

Status Points:
    Are you looking at the holiday inn or holiday inn express? Either way 270.00 per night for either hotel is way out of line.

KathInJax likes this.
  5. KathInJax

KathInJax Silver Member

Status Points: