Newbie Question about United Miles

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by danivance, Aug 13, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. danivance

danivance New Member

Hello. I'm new to Milepoint. Glad I found this website! Although I love to travel, I never really thought about joining a Frequent Flyer program before. I always just looked at them as something "regular" people wouldn't benefit from, and that they were mostly for business travelers.

I don't remember exactly what I typed into google, but I found the Frugal Travel Guy's website, and it all snowballed from there.

Since then, my husband and I have started earning miles. We chose the Chase Sapphire card, because we have existing relationships with Chase, in addition to it giving out a large sign up bonus for miles. EWR is our home airport, and we figure we will most likely always fly United.

Anyway, I tried looking around the forums, but couldn't find anything specific about families/couples accruing and using their miles. For those of you who are married or have families, how do you handle this? Do you try to earn your miles evenly between all accounts, or do you designate one person's account to be the one that you earn all of the miles into (surveys, credit cards, etc)?

Any advice you can recommend for a newbie would be appreciated!
  2. deant
    Original Member

deant Milepoint Guide

Typically, people will open FF accounts for every member of the family. Relative to earning miles / points from surveys, credit cards, etc., my wife and I tend to capture as many miles in each account as possible. If both husband and wife apply for credit cards you can "double" your take of miles.

For the most part, it does not matter who has the most miles / points - just that you get as many points as possible.
    paladinua and miles and smiles like this.
  3. paladinua

paladinua Silver Member

Welcome to Milepoint!