Newbie looking to refocus mileage earnings.

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by Junebuggy, Aug 25, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. Junebuggy

Junebuggy Active Member

Status Points:
    Hello all!

I'm new to register, but have been lurking for some time. To give you a brief rundown-- I’ve been a casual member of several frequent flyer/hotel programs for a decade or so. Given some great recent life/financial changes--recently married, husband landed a sweet new job with a huge pay increase, and me finishing grad school and now working--we’re looking to ramp up our travel over the next 5-7 years, before we (theoretically) have kids. As such, we’re looking to focus our mileage earning streams, to make the most of our travels. To give you some context:

1. What is your origination city/airport? RDU
    2. Where do you tend to travel? NYC, several times per year, but otherwise varied. (I go to several professional conferences per year-- some international, etc.) Husband’s travel usually limited to pleasure.
    3. What is your goal for the frequent flyer program (status, upgrades, rewards, etc.?): Rewards and upgrades, primarily. Status is nice, too, of course.
    4. How much do you travel in an average year? Previously, between 40-55,000 miles per year. I expect more in the coming years.
    5. Do you fly for business, pleasure, or a mix? mix - 50/50%
    6. How much of your travel is paid by someone else? I usually get some/all recompense for business travel, but I book it myself.
    7. How much control do you have of choosing flights, airlines, etc.? Total.
    8. What days of the week do you typically travel? Any!
    9. Can you book flexible fares? Yes.
    10. If you are likely to qualify for elite status will it be miles or segments? Varies from year to year-- but usually by miles.
    11. Do you have a preference or imposed requirement of hotel/rental car/credit card partners? No.
    12. Can you get extra miles from credit cards, surveys, other partners? Yes.