Newbie Looking for Strategy Help

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by 42levels, Aug 11, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. 42levels

42levels New Member

Status Points:
    Hi All,

Newbie here! I have been lurking around here now for over a week but unable to find any situations kind of like mine so I thought its time to go to the pros. I’m hoping to get kind of a strategy for earning miles and points for someone who doesn’t have that excellent credit that I keep seeing on so many posts.

I have a modest goal of maybe traveling overseas a couple of times a year, as I don’t work for myself, so only get a few weeks a year off. I would like to make it business or first class and hotels can be middle of the road or less. I am very flexible when it comes to traveling. My Current status, so you know what I’m working with is Single, live inU.S.Have a credit score average of 700 as of 8/12, so I don’t think I can qualify for the bonus CCs (just got shot down by Citi AA). I do however have a Discover Escape card which will earn me double miles on everything I buy (annual fee $60). CC churning and bonus cards won’t be an option for me unfortunately. I’m looking for a strategy for maximizing my escape card.Readingon here, I know I can pay most bills (about $1300 if I can swing the mortgage on there) on the card to get mileage and of course pay for everything else with the card (another $400 to $500) as well as pay my card in full monthly. Also read about signing up to dinning programs and using my card to get the double dip affect. I am signed up with at least 1 airline FFM on the 3 alliances and signed up with one SPG program. Given this scenario, are a couple of trips a year doable in style (at least on the plane)? I welcome any and all suggestions, including the ones saying am smoking crack cause it can’t be done lol.

desamo likes this.
  2. edekba

edekba Gold Member

Status Points:
    A credit score of 700 while not ideal is doable.