Newbie jumping into the game

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by Hfdman27, May 14, 2016.  |  Print Topic

1. Hfdman27

Hfdman27 New Member

Status Points:
    Hi and first let me offer my appreciation for such a sight with such a wealth of knowledge and experience. I am new to the game, so new I'm still waiting on my first 2 cards. I decided to start with the Barclaycard arrival plus and Chase Freedom and as soon as I reach spending minimum adding the Sapphire, Southwest and a hotel card (yet to be decided). I still have a young family of 4 so my plan for now is to stay domestic with some travel to carribean and expand internationally as my girls grow in age. I have excellent credit. So I would love some advice as to tricks to get going so I don't waste any money and points. Once again I am a blank slate and eager to learn and prove to my wife I can do this lol. My home base will be out of Houston.

2. Wandering Aramean
    Original Member

Wandering Aramean Gold Member

Status Points:
    Don't overspend just to get points. Don't carry a balance. Don't assume any of it is actually "free."

If the goal is 4 award tickets all the time it is going to take a significant volume of spending to get to travel together on awards. Make sure it is actually worth it versus just taking advantage of good fares when they come along.

3. Hfdman27

Hfdman27 New Member

Status Points:
    Thanks for your reply. Yea I never assumed I could fly the whole family around for free but to be able to significantly lower the cost with points seems like a great idea.

4. mevlannen
    Original Member

mevlannen Silver Member

Status Points:
    A handy trick is to roll old cards into new cards just a little bit after their one-year mark. That gets you new 'welcome' bonus and, if played right, lowers your interest rate.

Good luck!

5. Harper08

Harper08 New Member

Status Points:
    What was the lowest you were able to get your interest rate down to by rolling old cards?

6. Harper08