Newbie Here - Which Cards Should I have?

Discussion in 'Other Credit Card Programs' started by milesw, Jul 13, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. milesw

milesw Active Member

Status Points:
    Currently I have the following cards:
    • Capital One VentureOne Card (signed up before I heard about Chase Sapphire)
    • Capital One Platinum (once paid off at end of month it's getting cancelled)
    I have a few other cards, like one from my credit union I've not used in years.
    I want to have a card(s) that get me something travel related every year, I got the signup bonus of 10k on the CapitalOne (which equates to??? $100 worth of travel I assume?), and I want to get the most out of it, free flight from Michigan to Florida once a year, over night stays with finance in hotel on weekends, things like that.

The thing is, I am not a HUGE traveler, maybe 3 times per year, but I love the idea of having a card that is working for me, and using it for all my spending and paying off at end of month. The only airline that services me in MI is Delta, or else I have to drive 5 hours to Detroit to get anything else (which on some longer ones out west, etc, makes sense).

So I thought a bit about it and I was wondering, what card would benefit me the most? Should I cancel the VentureOne once it's paid off and get a Chase Sapphire if I can get in that program? What about the Delta card with free 35,000 points for a signup? Is that worth it? I guess I just don't know what point amounts actually get you free RTs..

Also, last I looked I have excellent credit!

Thanks so much, I am loving learning form you all!

2. milesw

milesw Active Member

Status Points:
    After a bit more thinking...

Can you have more than one card from Chase?