Newbie here - Poor old College Student

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by Rakuten06, May 9, 2014.  |  Print Topic

1. Rakuten06

Rakuten06 Active Member

Status Points:
    Hello,

I just recently joined the forums here and I'm a poor college student. However, I recently entered the world of traveling by miles/points by taking the first step to redeeming 4k points from Amtrak Guest Rewards for a free train ride home from Washington, DC to my hometown in Vermont. I loved traveling and always want to travel but I can't afford the trips because my money is going towards college or bills and I don't have a job because I'm a full-time student. Yet with all of those, my urge to travel is still strong especially when tomorrow is my first day of the summer vacation!

I had a points.com account (registered recently) and I saw a trade offer of 1k Amtrak Guest Rewards for 1k IHG Rewards Club + $10 trading fee. I did not register for IHG yet, but I am curious about your opinions if it is worth starting out my saving days by registering for an additional program and accepting that trade?

2. gregm

gregm Gold Member

Status Points:
    Welcome to MP. FWIW, if you could use airline and/or hotel branded CCs to pay those tuition and book fees, you'd be "earning as you're learning". ;)

Kevinwou91 and Newscience like this.
  3. Rakuten06

Rakuten06 Active Member

Status Points:
    Haha, understood. However, I already had two credit cards (Discover card and the CapitalOne card) - Discover card the only CC with "Cashback bonus" while CapitalOne doesn't.

Kevinwou91 and gregm like this.
  4. MX

MX Gold Member

Status Points:
    If you see any chance to ride Amtrak in the future, do not trade. Amtrak points are substantially more valuable than IHG. It won't hurt to join the IHG Rewards Club, in case you you happen to stay in their member hotels.

Welcome to Milepoint!

5. Rakuten06

Rakuten06 Active Member

Status Points: