Newbie here....need help on how to book family trip

Discussion in 'US Airways | Dividend Miles' started by cjarjoura, Feb 2, 2014.  |  Print Topic

1. cjarjoura

cjarjoura Member

Status Points:
    I am planning a trip for my family of 4 to go to Ireland, England, Germany and Italy this summer.

Below Summarizes my mileage:

Miles needed 240000
    US Airways Point Reduction -10000
    Actual points needed 230000
    My UA Miles 116768
    AmEx points (soon to be Aeroplan miles) 97772
    Husband UA Miles 17700
    Total miles 232240

We both have a UA credit card which has the 5000 point reduction (so a total of 10,000 miles – am I making a correction assumption?)

After a lot of searching, I found tickets on Air Canada ORD to DUB and then MIL to ORD return. Total miles needed 240,000. I want to pull the trigger asap, since economy tickets requiring only 30000 miles each way are very hard to find.

I have never booked a trip using miles. I am little confused about the process. I know I can book two tickets with my miles. But, how do I go about booking the two additional seats with my husband’s miles and the planned transfer of AmEx miles to Aeroplan? Does he have enough mile to book the trip through US Airways? Or do I need to book the trip with Air Canada and then lose out on the 5000 points? Does Air Canada allow the combination of to programs miles for a trip?

If I am totally off base with my plans, please let me know the best way to accomplish family vacation.

KathInJax likes this.
  2. KathInJax

KathInJax Silver Member

Status Points:
    OK, there was a lot of information in this post. I want to understand that you only have these miles:

UA (Yours) - 116,000
    UA (Husband) - 17,700
    AMEX - 97,772

Is this correct?

If so, you do not have enough points to book tickets on Air Canada. You would need 120,000 United and 120,000 Air Canada miles.

This is what I would do: