Newbie here, I need some help please!

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by Memot, Aug 23, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. Memot

Memot New Member

Status Points:
    Hi, I just recently started miles points and hopefully I'll be able to use it next year for my trip to Philippines. I just signed up for Barclaycard on 08/08/13 and got approved, right now I have 43k miles.

Here are my questions:

1. Can I apply for a different credit card like British Airways credit card anytime or should I wait 2-3 months before I sign up.
    2. Can I apply multiple credit cards in one day?
    3. If I get approved from British airways, can I combine the miles with my barclay? My flight will be from San Francisco to Cebu Philippines so Airlines will be cathay or philippines airlines.
    Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thank you:)

2. servo

servo Silver Member

Status Points:
    Technically, you can apply to another card company at any time. If you haven't had a bunch of cards already, then I'd say it's probably fine to apply for the BA card now. However, it's typical that most people do applications every 90 days.
    Absolutely! If you have a solid credit score (720+), then most people will apply for 1 card from each bank every 90 days. I've applied for 7 cards in one day before and got 6 of those approved!
    I don't believe combining is possible. Barclay points are only redeemable via Barclay, and BA miles are their own entity.

3. MSYgirl

MSYgirl Gold Member

Status Points:
    I'm not much help in the credit card arena, but I wanted to welcome you to the forum.

Welcome to MP! :)

4. Memot

Memot New Member

Status Points: