Newbie help with Star Allience

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by ekilko, Feb 18, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. ekilko

ekilko Silver Member

Status Points:
    Hi

I'm very new to the miles and points business. I am based in the UK and I only hold status with a small European airline but I had a quick question.

I have always been a one world guy because I was based in uk/ie and fly BA a lot. Now I have to take a trip to and around the US and because of who is paying for it I have to fly united. I'll be doing approx 11000 miles. So I figure I have to open a star Alliance account with one airline but don't know which one to do it with. My immediate thought was to do it with BMI as I'm more likely to fly them in the future plus they seam to have a lower threshold to the first status level (16000) from what I could tell. But then they not the biggest airline and are for sale and perhaps there are other options out there.

I would appreciate any advice you would have

Eoin

YULtide likes this.
  2. desamo

desamo Gold Member

Status Points:
    BMI is currently Star Alliance, but it remains to be seen if they'll remain so. If they get folded into BA, then it's possible that you could blend your BMI miles with your existing BA Avios -- or not. At the moment, BMI may make the most sense for you.

3. You probably can't go wrong by joining either the United or Continental programs...they are merging this year so it doesn't really matter which. Doesn't cost anything. I've been a 1K flyer on United for years and found it easy enough to earn Star Alliance miles to my United account when flying other Star Alliance partners. I'll be interested in others' reply to you, though. Good luck and have fun with the travel!

4. MSPeconomist
    Original Member

MSPeconomist Gold Member

Status Points: