Newbie Doing US Trial Preferred: Should I go for CP?

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by thunderchikin, Oct 15, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. Newbie here: I've never done a mileage run before, but since I signed up for the Trial Preferred for the Grand Slam (and I have a lot of travel scheduled next year, including a couple of trips to Europe), I was thinking of doing a MR to reach Plat or CP. I've done 2k and 4 segments so far. Over the next 60ish days I have the following flights either booked or am about to book them.

1. OAJ > CLT > ORD (booked)
    2. OAJ > CLT > ORD (not booked)
    3. OAJ > CLT > LGA (not booked)

I'll easily make silver. Is it worth it to add some segments to increase my PQMs? Is it worth it to go for Plat or CP? Is the US Airways site the best place to look for adding segments?

Thanks!

rwoman and cennas like this.
  2. cennas
    Original Member

cennas Gold Member

Status Points:
    Welcome to MP thunderchikin!

I'm not a US expert so can't help you on your questions, but I'm sure other qualified MP members will help you.

Enjoy your stay here.

lwkatya and catgirl like this.
  3. gleff
    Original Member

gleff Co-founder

Status Points:
    US Airways doesn't offer trial preferred for Chairman's
    http://www.usairways.com/en-US/dividendmiles/promotions/trialpreferred.html

And if you wanted to do a challenge to Platinum you would need to sign up for a Platinum challenge (which is more $$).

Once you make Platinum through a challenge you aren't 'close' to Chairmans Preferred as you would still need to qualify for that through the usual means (eg 100k total miles flown, not just an additional 25k miles).

4. rwoman
    Original Member

rwoman Gold Member

Status Points:
    thunderchikin,

Welcome to MP!

:)

cennas likes this.