Newbie - College Graduate w bad credit :(

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by Chissy, Sep 13, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. Chissy

Chissy New Member

Status Points:
    Hello All,

I am a Newbie with a passion for travel. I graduated college over 2 years ago with a lot of debt and 3 CC and no job. Needless to say my credit went downhill in the 6 months it took me to get work. I've been working solid for almost 2 years however my credit is still a wreck. It's slowly improving, but since I have settled and past delinquent accounts I do not get approved for credit cards.

I'm signed up with reward programs for airlines and hotels, but is there any other way I could increase my reward points when I travel. I only travel for leisure and my goal is to get enough reward points for a trip to Europe.

uggboy and YULtide like this.
  2. vickers

vickers Gold Member

Status Points:
    Until you get back on your feet credit-wise, you may want to consider a reward debit card. As far as I know, only Suntrust Bank offers a Delta Debit Card. Watch the fees though, both checking (monthly fees unless requirements are met) and the annual fee. But, if you can offset the annual fee with the miles, it may be worth considering.

Delta Debit Card
    https://www.suntrust.com/PersonalBanking/EverydayBanking/Checking/CheckCards/DeltaSkyMilesCheckCard

Capital One is also very good for granting people with credit issues credit cards. They have a credit card finder here:
    http://www.capitalone.com/credit-cards/

Their QuickSilver One may work, depending on your score. Annual Fee, but its not too bad, and you can earn rewards using the card. 1.5% on all purchases.

Barclay Rewards may be another option. They are running a bonus now, and have no annual fee. But it all depends on your credit score. https://www.barclaycardus.com/apply...nId=1655&cellNumber=4&REFERRERID=BCSTX0213ASP