Newbie - Booking Award travel

Discussion in 'US Airways | Dividend Miles' started by tp87, Mar 5, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. tp87

tp87 New Member

Status Points:
    I'm sorry, but I am new at this and wanted to know if I could get some help.

I'm trying to redeem my dividend miles for a flight and wanted to know if the amount of miles needed to redeem award travel is determined by the cost of the ticket or by how full the flight is? Or neither?

I'm trying to get a U.S. Airways round trip ticket from Philadelphia to Las Vegas in October and the amount of miles required are pretty high. If I were to pay cash for the ticket, the price would be $460.00 which is unusually high. If I were to book a ticket to LA (which is further away) the price would be $250.00 and the miles needed to redeem are lower.

I'm wondering if I should hold out and hope for the ticket price to drop and then hope the miles required will drop? Or does it not work that way.

Thank you for any help.

savingrace, misman and YULtide like this.
  2. philatravelgirl

philatravelgirl Silver Member

Status Points:
    Welcome to Milepoint! US awards are not based on price or how full so the miles needed wont change in my experience. They usually have a few seats per flight at the lowest miles otherwise it's cheaper to fly to Europe for what they want to Vegas! I'm out of Philly too and the Vegas flights are always a tough award ticket to get and the price would only go up in my opinion. My last two Vegas trips were on Southwest (first time flying them over US) saved some money and no baggage fee.
    Looking at the united.com site there are a few standard 25k saver awards on united from Philly connecting Houston, Denver and Newark options And a few direct with stop but no plane change. I'm looking at oct 2nd not sure of your dates. You might also widen the options and take Amtrak to Newark airport as Newark may have direct flights.