Newbie based in Europe - how to get started with the miles thing?

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Miles/Points' started by elkur, Feb 25, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. elkur

elkur Active Member

Status Points:
    Hi everyone,
    I am new to the world of frequent flyer miles. I have been reading a few blogs and forums for a couple of months. I was really excited about this 'you can travel for almost no money' thing. But when it comes down to it, i can find very few opportunities for myself. I am starting to feel as if i live on the wrong continent.
    I'm not looking for status, but would like to use miles for leisure travel. I have a Mileage Plus account with only about 20 000 miles in it. I am based in Brussels and i do not travel very often: a couple of times a year for work (always short flights within Europe that only get me a couple hundreds miles) and then probably one short and one longer trip on my own dime. At that rate i will have two wait another five years or so before i have enough miles for a ticket to the US or Asia.

I signed up for mypoints to get 750 UA miles but the miles are only for US and Canada residents. There are no UA credit cards for Belgian residents so that won't work.
    Maybe i'm not looking in the right places. How would you suggest i go about collecting some more miles?

misman and Gargoyle like this.
  2. misman
    Original Member

misman Gold Member

Status Points:
    My first question is "Why did you choose UA"? Not that there is anything wrong with UA, but if you are doing short trips throughout the EU from Brussels, it doesn't seem like the best program choice.

Edited to add: When you fly, which airline do you usually fly? What are your usual destinations?

3. Mackieman
    Original Member

Mackieman Gold Member

Status Points:
    Welcome elkur. :)