Newbie - award availability hard to find?

Discussion in 'Hilton | HHonors' started by Maximizer, Sep 12, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. Maximizer

Maximizer Silver Member

Status Points:
    I'm a newbie to HHonors, currently have no points, but trying to evaluate in terms of award availability. I sampled Jan 24-27 in Hong Kong, Phuket, and Buenos Aires. All say "There are no HHonors Reward Certificate rooms available".

Is this typical, or just bad luck? Do you struggle to find decent availability?

8MiHi likes this.
  2. desamo

desamo Gold Member

Status Points:
    There's only one Hilton (Conrad, actually) hotel in Hong Kong, and I see available rooms on your dates, plus the great points and cash rate (25k points + $1008 HKD ). I'm Gold, though I don't know if that makes a difference.

I've stayed there, really like the place. Photos are on a recent blog post, link in my sig.

8MiHi likes this.
  3. newbluesea
    Original Member

newbluesea Gold Member

Status Points:
    First of all if you do not log into your account you will not be able to see award inventory secondly HH does make more awards available to Diamonds as opposed to Golds ( and quite rightly so:) )

Despite this being close to the high season for Buenos Aires as a Diamond I found awards available for all the nights you listed....so for some of us its not a struggle at all.:)

4. Maximizer

Maximizer Silver Member

Status Points:
    I am Gold, through some promo a while back, and have no points yet. Looked at some other hotels and other dates, I see nothing!

Does HHonors require to have points in order to see availability? Or could I possibly be doing something wrong? I can't imagine that Stockton, CA is super busy in mid-October and only Diamonds can get in.

5. newbluesea
    Original Member

newbluesea Gold Member

Status Points: