newb help booking from atl to barcelona in sep

Discussion in 'Delta Air Lines | SkyMiles' started by samgovol, Dec 10, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. samgovol

samgovol Active Member

Status Points:
    first...i appreciate any help

i have attained gold medallion with delta. my wife and i want to go on a mediterranean cruise in sep. 2012....any suggestions on using my miles/medallion status to get there on first class...i am very new to medallion status so i really could use any help. is it best to purchase economy tickets then use points to upgrade?

thanks for any advice!!

tomphot likes this.
  2. Davescj
    Original Member

Davescj Silver Member

Status Points:
    Depends how many points you want to use. On DL you can see the mileage charts for both upgrade and free ticket. If you can start looking at dates now, you can look at reserving a ticket. However, the "cheapest" bucket of J fares may not be available this far out (sounds contradictory I know). But then again -- worth looking to see.

If you want to buy/upgrade, be aware that you need to buy in the M and higher fare bucket. THis is true for both the use of miles and SWU you get as PM/DM. This fare bucket can be quite expensive. Especially if you're buying 2!

A third option is to look at the AMEX Plat card, where you can buy one J ticket (usually full fare) and get a second free. However, depending on the cost, how many miles, etc. you may find that the deal is reasonable.

The only thing I have heard from others (no personal experience) is to AVOID Air Europa.

One last option, don't be afraid to call DL agents and ask about various options on AF/KM that don't always show up on the online booking (esp as buying tickets for upgrades).

Good luck, enjoy the trip! Hope this helps.

tomphot likes this.
  3. tomphot

tomphot Gold Member

Status Points:
    Agree with everything Davesjc said. How many miles do have in your account?

4. samgovol

samgovol Active Member

Status Points: