New York hotels

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by Dmh12011, May 20, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. Dmh12011

Dmh12011 Active Member

Status Points:
    I am relatively new to the travel sites and wondered if someone could help me with hotel stay in New York for September 20-23. I know some hotel programs have buy 2 nights get one free for example. I don't want to pay more than $200-$250 a night. Any advice would be appreciated.

jbcarioca likes this.
  2. rwoman
    Original Member

rwoman Gold Member

Status Points:
    Do you have any preferences other than price? Location? Program? How do you plan to get around?

:)

jbcarioca likes this.
  3. jbcarioca
    Original Member

jbcarioca Gold Member

Status Points:
    Welcome to MilePoint. I'd suggest the following as first choices:
    http://www.bedandbreakfast.com/manhattan-new-york.html
    This one has many nice places under $250 and they have breakfast included. You only need to know the area you'll be staying in.
    You don't give us much other information, but:
    There are lots of clubs, including University, Harvard, Princeton/Columbia (collocated IIRC). If you've eligibility for any of them they have decent rooms and save lots of money.
    New York magazine periodically publishes a list of bargain places:
    http://nymag.com/urban/guides/nyonthecheap/travel/hotels.htm

4. Dmh12011

Dmh12011 Active Member

Status Points:
    We would like to stay in the theater district and plan on attending a show or two. We are planning on taking the subway or walking.....hoping for great weather. We just booked our plane tickets using points on United and are flying into LaGuardia. As far as hotels, I do have UR points from the Chase Sapphire program but didn't know if It would be a good use of points.

jbcarioca likes this.
  5. Albert
    Original Member

Albert Gold Member

Status Points: