New to Silver... Seat Selection Question

Discussion in 'Delta Air Lines | SkyMiles' started by mrredskin, Apr 6, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. mrredskin
    Original Member

mrredskin Gold Member

Status Points:
    Since I have never been able to book Preferred seating, I have no knowledge of this:

Just booked travel in May which will include a trek on the 757 (75N variety) to SAT via ATL on a Saturday. There were probably 6-8 preferred seats already taken, yet none of those were exit row. I was able to book 16B and C (no one presently in A) which looks to yield me one of the better seats in coach according to Seatguru. No other exit row seats have been selected... only some in the few rows behind me. The only downfall I see is some possibly congregating near the lavatory if there is a lot of distance between the seat and the crapper.

So, the question: are these more than likely just elites who know they will be upgraded or what? It would seem odd to me that an elite would go with something more random like a 19C or E instead of additional legroom. My hopes of an upgrade seem to be rather good at this time since F looks full. Maybe even the gf will get an upgrade as a travel companion?! And yes the reservations are linked

DeltaExpert likes this.
  2. Mike1625
    Original Member

Mike1625 Silver Member

Status Points:
    I am in the minority here, but I am a delta elite who never books exit rows seats, because the seats are more narrow (because the tray table is in the wider armrest instead of on the seat in front of you.)

Like I said, others will chime in, but that is one possible reason.

Mtjsb likes this.
  3. MSPeconomist
    Original Member

MSPeconomist Gold Member

Status Points:
    It's not that unusual to see a seat map that is relatively empty in the exit rows. It probably depends on the route, time, etc.