New to RTW

Discussion in 'Air Canada | Aeroplan' started by manymuse, Nov 16, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. I'm hoping to book a RTW from Edmonton-London-ISydney-Edmonton - YEG-LHR-SYD-YEG, with a side trip from LHR-ACC (Accra, Ghana).

The RTW portion costs 200,000 miles economy and 300,000 business/first class.

I have 230000 miles and am scrambling to add an additional 20,000. I would love to purchase the remaining 50,000 I need from a 'friend' at 1.5 cents a mile, but may have to resort to buying them from Aeroplan at 3 cents a piece.

The routing is optional - I am looking for advice on how to get the most of my miles and with the greatest comfort, i.e. busines/first class. and the least amount of surcharges.

Any and all advice will be taken in on this very steep learning curve that I am climbing.

YULtide and ACMM like this.
  2. ACMM
    Original Member

ACMM Gold Member

Status Points:
    Welcome to milePoint manymuse -- I am not a RTW expert by any means so will let the other wiser ones reply with information ... but glad to have you onboard here on the AC forum and on milePoint!

3. BackSlash

BackSlash Silver Member

Status Points:
    I'm not an RTW expert either, but I do know that when booking using Aeroplan miles, you now need to avoid business/first redemptions on AC and Lufthansa to avoid exorbitant fuel surcharges. I know that the UK has a premium passenger tax but I think that the RTW fare bypasses that by making you a through passenger rather than a departing passenger from LHR.

Also, if you're in first not business, consider paying the fuel surcharge for Lufthansa and route via Frankfurt, I've been told that the First Class Terminal there is quite the experience, also the Thai Spa Lounge is supposed to be quite something if you route via BKK on Thai in first.

4. BackSlash

BackSlash Silver Member

Status Points: