new to MR and looking for options

Discussion in 'Mileage Runs/Travel Hacking' started by acox28, Dec 4, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. acox28

acox28 Active Member

Status Points:
    I have a trip planned to be in DCA for business on Friday evening and leaving on Saturday. Looking for ways to build miles on Delta. The dates are Jan.11 through 12th and I will need to leave from GSO, CLT or RDU and return to the same airport.

I could possibly leave on the evening of the 10th and return on Sunday the 13th.

marcwint55 likes this.
  2. edekba

edekba Gold Member

Status Points:
    Quick ITA Search found this for $297 or $0.145/mile (2042 miles).

CLT - ATL - DCA on 1/10 (7:30pm - 11:28pm) DL705/1438
    DCA - MEM - CLT on 1/13 (11:55am - 5:13pm) DL1431/3773

marcwint55 and malikguy like this.
  3. timbo

timbo Member

Status Points:
    I'm new to MR as well and trying to even figure out if it's something I want to do.

I've read some basics about it online but don't quite feel I'm getting the full story of what it's about.

Anyway, why *do* people do MRs?

marcwint55 likes this.
  4. Phorever

Phorever Silver Member

Status Points:
    The idea is to hit the next status tier on an airline.

For example, I am silver on United and am going to finish the year 4 segments shy of gold.... So I am going to fly for unnecessary segments in December to get to gold status this year.

marcwint55 likes this.
  5. sendbillmoney

sendbillmoney Silver Member

Status Points:
    Answers will vary:

If one is close (i.e., within mileage-running distance) to a desired status and won't reach it through otherwise-scheduled travel on a desired timeline, a MR can be the solution. In some cases, acquiring a particular status can be an absolutely huge return on investment.

If one is close to a desired mileage redemption, under some circumstances it might make sense to get the rest by MR instead of buying redeemable miles.