New to all this

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by rossii, Jul 25, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. Hi all,

I am new to the miles game and I've been reading through some threads and had some questions.

I currently have about 50K miles/points on Captial One, AMEX and UA mileage plus for a total of 150K. I am planning on a trip to Barcelona and wanted to know the best way to go about it.

1. Is it possible to transfer/combine points? If so what would be the recommended method?
    2. Would it be better to use miles to upgrade rather than getting a ticket. If so I would go through UA?
    3. What codes do I need to look for when trying to determine an upgradeable fare?

Thanks in advance!

SC Flier likes this.
  2. Randy Petersen
    Original Member

Randy Petersen Founder

First of all welcome to milepoint.

You got a good question and the answers might sound a little confusing at first so let us help you with how to connect the dots ... so to speak. Quick question: with both Cap One and AmEx being credit card instruments for miles, what does your 50K at United look like? Are those a combination of flight miles and partners, or are they mostly related to your use of the United Mileage plus credit card? I'm asking so we know what "options" you might have at United since their credit card has an "options" program that allows you to convert miles to money for airline tickets and of course that is the option for Cap One and to some degree with AmEx.

Again welcome and over the next few days let's see what advice we can give you for full value of your current miles.
    Mikel, goheerow and SC Flier like this.
  3. NYBanker
    Original Member

NYBanker Gold Member

Welcome to MP. You got a nice greeting from the big cheese in the prior post.

I'm not an expert at *A redemptions, but one thing I do know is that the ability to transfer Amex points to Continental (which are the combine-able with United points) expires at the end of September.