New, points question

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by projectworkout, Aug 15, 2015.  |  Print Topic

1. projectworkout

projectworkout Member

Status Points:
    I would like to know if there are any real good points credit cards to use for gift cards at a good rate. I have been using amex that gives me one point per $1 for many years & $150 annual fee. Some of the gift cards dont add up though, like 10,000 should get a $10 gift card, at least it used to but now it is more like 12500 gets $10.

I do NOT travel, I find it stressful not relaxing. So every time I try to look up a good credit card on all these sights, its always for travel. Anyone know of a good credit card that offers low points towards gift cards, or more than 1 point per $1 with low or no fees?

Newscience, satman40 and MX like this.
  2. MX

MX Gold Member

Status Points:
    Indeed, you old card gives you a poor value. It sounds like you should be looking for a cash-back (rebate) card. There is a number of them available paying you 2% rebates on all spending with no annual fee. Some categories of spending (like groceries or gas) pay even higher rebates. Rebates in points are primarily a marketing gimmick to benefit the travel industry. That's likely the reason why you're coming up with only travel cards, when you search for points.

Also don't forget to consider sign-up bonuses when choosing a new card -- they can be several hundred dollars depending on spending requirements.

3. satman40

satman40 Gold Member

Status Points:
    Citi thank you used to be a great card for point.

I seem to remember getting a Canon 7D at Best Buy's for almost free, with points.

Amex is not the only game in town, easiest way is always the sign up bonuses.

projectworkout likes this.
  4. projectworkout

projectworkout Member

Status Points:
    Thanks, I was thinking about the amex 6% on groceries, Id easily max out on that doing the gift card deals for gas reward so maybe thats the way to go