New member with a few questions

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by ASUndevil42, Mar 9, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. ASUndevil42

ASUndevil42 New Member

Status Points:
    Hello all. First of all, I had no idea about an ipad mini, I actually joined to ask a few questions and to get to know some tricks from all of you Milepoint pros. Secondly, this has to be the most friendly forum I've ever seen. Lastly, I'm new to this whole mileage and points earning thing. I started looking into it last week when I got an offer from AMEX for 50K Member Rewards points for only spending $1K. I couldn't pass that up so I signed up immediately. Ever since I signed up I've been fiending over blogs and forums trying to take in every bit of information I can absorb. There is A LOT of it and my head is swimming. This stuff is kind of addicting...

Anyway, sorry to ramble on...

A couple of questions I have are:
    1) What's a good source for mileage/rewards schedules? Something simplified that I can access easily without having to delve deep into a programs website. For example, Steven Schwartz posted one for ANA in this thread that was perfectly simple. /forums/threads/how-do-i-transfer-amex-points-to-united.51760/. (it wouldn't let me post the direct link).

2) Is there a good way for managing all of these various accounts and points? I know about AwardWallet but are there any other tools you like to use (spreadsheets, etc.) for managing such things?

3) Should my wife and I each sign up for separate accounts for each of the frequent flyer programs we want to use or will one per couple be sufficient? Along that line, are points/miles typically transferable between spouses (or anyone)?

4) Can you get credit for flying on an airline for tickets in which we did not pay for? For instance, we are considering buying a Volvo and they offer two round trip tickets to Sweden to pick up your car at the factory. Would we get miles for that?