New Here, Trying To Go To Buenos Aires

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by aresay, Mar 19, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. aresay

aresay Member

Status Points:
    Hi everybody. I am new to the frequent flyer mileage game, but after spending thousands of my own dollars on flying internationally, and until recently, not even using frequent flyer programs (I flew to Guatemala, Rwanda, Uganda and Morocco without earning credit), I decided it was time to join!

My FICO is a pretty solid (I think?) 771 and I can pay my rent via credit card (with a 1% service fee) so it seems like credit card sign ups are the way to go, the problem is deciding which ones to go for. For my next big trip, I want to fly from NYC to Buenos Aires (no date yet), so I imagine that will impact which cards I sign up for. I currently don't have a ton of miles (7,500 AA; 20,000 Continental; 35,000 Delta) so a lot will depend on what I do going forward.

What course of action would you recommend? I've read that using BA for LAN is pretty good for South America, so maybe start with Chase Sapphire Preferred, or might AA be better?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

2. sobore
    Original Member

sobore Gold Member

Status Points:
    Welcome to Milepoint aresay! :)

Let's see what the MP credit card experts have to say!

3. Randy Petersen
    Original Member

Randy Petersen Founder

Status Points:
    Welcome. We have some pretty savvy credit card members so they will be posting along shortly. Because of global alliances, my guess is that you'll really want to focus on the best card signup bonus. There's some good ones and not so good ones, so balance the advice you'll get here with your own personal goals. Cheers.

4. rwoman
    Original Member

rwoman Gold Member

Status Points:
    Welcome to MP!

:)

5. Jimgotkp
    Original Member

Jimgotkp Gold Member

Status Points: